Understanding the powerful monarch of the United Kingdom, who

Canada’s current political system is mainly influenced by the British parliamentary
system and very firmly established in tradition. Canadas powers are divided
between 10 parts (Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Manitoba,
Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and
Newfoundland and Labrador), and a central federal government. Canada is a
federation, the powers of the federal government and the colonies are placed in
the Constitution. The control of the three territories (Yukon, Northwest
Territories and Nunavut) are advised on them by the federal government and
aren’t cherished in the British North America Act (BNA Act). The BNA Act made
Canada a constitutional monarchy, whose sovereignty is what makes up the
powerful monarch of the United Kingdom, who Canada’s head of state is currently
Elizabeth II. The Constitution and the BNA Act in 1867 united three British
provinces: The Province of Canada (comparing Upper Canada, which is now
Ontario, and Lower Canada, which is now Quebec), New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

The parliament
however abides by two houses, where one has more of an upper power than the
other. The Senate (Upper House) includes 105 members selected by the prime
minister and representing all regions of the country. The House of Commons
(Lower House) includes 308 elected members.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

There are three
main parts to parliament, a sovereign; which is either a King or Queen who is
represented in Canada by the governor general. A senate is the dwelling of
senators which are chosen by the Governor General under the arrangement of the
Prime Minister and they will serve until age 75. House of Commons, a
representative chamber made up of members of parliament elected by the people
traditionally every 4 years. Both the senate and the House of Commons consider
and review bills (proposal for new laws). Granted by Governor General on behalf
of the sovereign, no bill can become a law until it has approval from both of
these chambers received royal accent. The leader of the political party with
the most voted seats in the House of Commons is proposed by the governor
general to form the government after every election. The leader of this party
becomes the prime minister of Canada, the Prime Minister also chooses the
minister of the crown mostly from the members of the House of Commons. These
cabinet members are generally called the cabinet collectively and are
responsible for working the Federal Government departments. Along with the
Prime Minister the cabinet makes important decisions about how the country is
governed which includes budgeting and proposition of new laws, their decision
can be questioned by any of the members in the house of commons. Usually the
most members of the opposite party in the house of commons is the official
action or her/his majesty’s royal opposition.

Canada has multiple
courts that are suited to handle matters in a variety of areas. The Supreme
court of Canada, is the courts final appeal of Canada’s justice system, as well
as the country’s highest court. The federal court of Canada deals with matters
concerning the federal government. Other provincial courts exist in each
province the handle lesser offensives.